John F. DeBartolo, Esq.

John DeBartolo

John F. DeBartolo was a Partner in and Co-Founder of Atkinson & DeBartolo, P.C. in Red Bank, New Jersey. Atkinson & DeBartolo, P.C. was founded in 1980, and the firm concentrated in family law, bankruptcy, and commercial litigation. When Mr. Atkinson and Mr. DeBartolo discontinued the firm’s operation after nearly 40 years, John joined the Law Office of Timothy F. McGoughran, LLC, as of counsel in February 2020. Mr. DeBartolo is a past Chair of the Family Law Section of the New Jersey State Bar Association and Past President of the Monmouth Bar Association and has been a member of both Associations for more than 40 years.

Mr. DeBartolo served as Monmouth County Trustee to the NJSBA and was the NJSBA’s first representative on the New Jersey Supreme Court Board on Mandatory Continuing Legal Education. Past Co-Chair of the Monmouth Bar Association’s Family Law Committee and a former member of the District IX Ethics Committee, he has been an Early Settlement Panelist and Blue Ribbon Panelist for more than 30 years and served four terms on the New Jersey Supreme Court Family Division Practice Committee.

In 2011, Mr. DeBartolo was the recipient of the Saul Tischler Award bestowed by the New Jersey State Bar Association Family Law Section for his contributions to the practice of family law. He has lectured for ICLE, the New Jersey Association for Justice, the Hayden Proctor American Inn of Court and the Administrative Office of the Courts’ Orientation Seminar for new and rotated judges. Mr. DeBartolo received his B.A. from Boston University College of Liberal Arts and his J.D. from Boston University School of Law. He clerked for the Honorable Neil G. Duffy, Sr., JSC, Chancery Division, Matrimonial, Essex County. Mr. DeBartolo has served as an Early Settlement Panelist in Monmouth County for 35 years. He is also a Trustee in Perpetuum for the Monmouth Bar Association.

The New Jersey Institute of Continuing Legal Education presented Mr. Debartolo with the esteemed Distinguished Service Award in 2020 in appreciation of his exceptional achievements to the legal field. His unwavering commitment to excellence, experience, and persistent dedication to furthering legal education have set a high standard in the legal community, garnering him this well-deserved recognition.